Prof Guglielmo Aglietti

Space Institute Director

Aerospace structures and mechanisms, deployable structures

Academic and Professional Staff

Dr Andrew Austin

Lecturer in Electrical, Computer and Software Engineering

Antennas, wireless communications, and radar

A Prof Mark Battley

Engineering Science

Non-destructive inspection methods for materials and structures

Prof Kathleen Campbell

School of Environment

Astrobiology, geology, paleo-ecology

Dr John Cater

Deputy Head of Engineering Science

Aerospace engineering, fluid mechanics, aeroacoustics

Prof Richard Easter

Head of Physics

Theoretical cosmology, astrophysics

Dr Delwyn Moller

Adjunct Professor in Electrical, Computer and Software Engineering

Radar technology, remote sensing

Dr Nicholas Rattenbury

Senior Lecturer in Physics

Optical communication and propulsion systems for nanosatellites, astrophysics

Jim Hefkey

Director – Auckland Program for Space Systems (APSS)

Tristan O’Hanlon

Undergraduate Coordinator – Auckland Program for Space Systems (APSS)

Brody Radford

Technical Manager

Catherine Qualtrough

Research Operations Coordinator

Postgraduate Students

Phillip Nieke

PhD Student

Titanium foam re-entry shielding

Darcey Graham

PhD Student

Low-energy interplanetary trajectories

Félicien Filleul

PhD Student

Plasma propulsion for small satellites

Nico Reichenbach

PhD Student

Deployable and inflatable space structures

Jan Krecke

PhD Student

Synthetic Aperture Radar (SAR) technology development for monitoring ships in New Zealand’s exclusive economic zone.

Skip to toolbar